Guest Blogger: Mandy Sheridan Part 1

Hello my lovely Create with Kate peeps.  Mandy here, also known as craftyangelmandy, you can visit my new blog here, Pink Goose Craft House.

Today I am here to share some playing I did with one of the new Prima Doll Stamps along with a few Tim Holtz Distress Markers from Ranger.  I will be sharing the finished project in parts, so this week is part one.  I will show you how I created my doll, next week, part two will see me adding her to Prima’s new Mixed Media Finnabair Art Journal along with some papers from the Prima Divine Collection (all of which are available over at CreatewithKate’s online store.  So without further ado lets get colouring…….

What you will need:

Good quality watercolour paper, Distress Markers, Water brush, Acrylic Block, Permanent Inks (Stazon, Archival), Kitchen Roll.

What you need

Part 1.a

I started with Scattered Straw, I used my marker direct to paper and some scribbled out on a acrylic block.

Part 1

Part 2

I then layer over the Scattered Straw with a very small amount of Vintage Photo at the very edges, blending with my water brush.

Part 3

Part 4

add some Worn Lipstick to her cheeks, again blending out.

Part 5

Start on her hair with Vintage Photo as your base, Walnut Stain on the edges and to deepen I added some of my Black Soot Distress Ink Pad.

Part 6

If you feel your paper/image is becoming to wet, just give it a blast with your heat tool and you can always use your water brush with no water in it.

Part 7

Stamp out your image on some pattern paper (I used the new A4 Divine Collection from Prima)  Cut out the dress and adhere to your base doll.

Part 8

 Colour over the edges of the pattern paper dress with Victorian Velvet to enhance.

Part 9

Add some subtle highlights to her hair with a white gel pen and decorate her hairband with Tumbled Glass.

Part 10

Now you have your finished doll she will be ready for next weeks part two, where we will add her to the journal.  You will be able to apply this doll to any project, so if you have a card or scrapbook page in mind you can still join us!

Hope you enjoyed this tutorial, if you would like to contact me with any questions feel free to email me at craftyangelmandy@gmail.com or maybe you would like to attend a class, I have a canvas one coming up in April.  Take care, hugs Mandyxx

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Mandy Sheridan Part 1

Leave a Reply

