Card Tutorial!

Hi all,

For any one who has young kids I highly recommend a DVD called “How To Train Your Dragon”, my son who was 4 on the 1st June 🙂 is glued to it at the moment, so hence some free time for blogging this card tutorial Lol!.  (My son is one of those who hits the ground running from the minute he gets up until he goes to bed at night!)

For these cards you will need large stamps: I used Stampendous Jumbo Cling sets:- Hydrangea and Hollyhock (can be seen here)as well as the text stamp from Tim Holtz Stamp Papillon Set (seen here).  You will also need 3 different colours of cardstock to layer your stamped image onto your base card, which in this case is a 14cm x 14cm square card.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So You will need:

Large Stamps such as Stampendous Jumbo Cling Sets

A4 white cardstock, cut to 28cm x 14cm, scored and folded at 14cm to give you a 14cm x 14cm square card.

Three contrasting colour cardstock

Colour 1:  Cut to 12cm x 12cm

Colour 2:  Cut to 11.5cm x 11.5cm

Colour 3:  Cut to 11cm x 11cm (I used Black in each case)

White stamping card stock, cut to 10.5cm x 10.5cm

Archival Ink (I used Library Green and Sepia)

Chalks

Distress Inks

I stamped the different images onto the white 10.5cm square with Archival Inks (don’t worry about going over the egde as this adds to the design).  I coloured the images using chalks and distressed around the edges using co-ordinating distress inks.

I then layered the stamped image onto the centre of the 11cm square cardstock  (black in my case) using 3D foam pads, then matted this onto the 11.5cm square and then the 12cm square cardstock.  Finally this was matted to the 14cm square based card.

Of course if you have a set of nested square die cuts, you can use them. I really enjoy using the chalks as they give a really soft glow. Although I can’t wait to try Tim Holtz’s new distress markers (in stock next week Wahoo!) and I think these would be perfect for them.

Different Uses:  Make a set of these and frame each one, to make a beautiful present:

OR

Wrap a few of these in a pretty bow and give them to a loved one as a gift. Which is what I am going to do with these. My Granny loves sending cards but since she had her stroke she can’t buy them herself so these will make a perfect ‘Make Me Smile’ gift

Happy Crafting

Kate x

Ps. More sneak Peaks for the Bo Bunny Mini Album Workshop coming tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

