Sizzix and Heros Arts – the perfect christmas marriage!

Hero Arts and Sizzix have recently joined forces to produce matching stamps and embossing folders. These produce a great letterpress effect on your cards and other projects. This week I’ve been playing with the Birds N Trees set (available from our shop) to see how it works. I’m interested in how easy they are to use and how versatile they are. My first attempt was using gold mirror card and Blazing Red Stazon Ink.

I used the stazon ink because it is permanent on non porous surfaces like mirror card and it has a translucency that I like. I stamped the image, trimmed it and embossed it using my Sizzix Big Shot (available here). I then matted and layered it and added a ribbon and a stamped message to finish my card. I was very pleased with how it came out and I went on to make a similar card with silver mirror card and Teal Blue Stazon Ink.

I then experimented with stamping the image with Versamark Ink (available here) on to smooth white card and heat embossing with Stampendous Stamp-n-Stuff Detail Gold Embossing Powder. I trimmed my image, embossed it on my Big Shot and matted it onto gold and white with a message. This was very easy, simple and effective and I thought it would be lovely as a christmas wedding card or anniversary card.

I then stamped with versamark ink on to white card but this time I used Perfect Pearls (available here), which gave a very subtle effect. So I created more contrast by spraying over the card with various inks and then used it as a background. I die cut it using the Tim Holtz Ornamental Die (available here). I then die cut Tim Holtz Carved Ornaments (available here) from heavy card and painted one with Ecogreen Gold acrylic paint (available here). I stamped and heat embossed the message from the new Tim Holtz Joyful Song stamp set (available here) using purple embossing powder to match the background. I then added a few crystals (available here) and finished it with some offcuts from the brand new Tim Holtz Vintage Lace Decorative Strip Die (available here).

I really like this new die as you don’t just get the 3 decorative strips, you get the off-cut strips inbetween, which are just as interesting. Decorative strip dies will only cut paper but if you use it to cut gold or silver paper it comes out like german scrap borders – nice.

In my final card I have used different coloured felt-tipped pens to ink up the various trees. As this took a bit of time the inks were drying out on the stamp. To reactivate them I gave the stamp a good “huff” of breath before stamping it. I then embossed it with my Big Shot and matted and layered it. I liked it so much I didn’t even want to add a message.

I really enjoyed using the combination of stamp set and embossing folder. I found it very versatile and you get such a professional look. They are especially useful for making a lot of cards quickly – perfect for Christmas or weddings. The stamps are big and I found getting a good impression took a few initial test tries until I got the hang of it. Use a juicy ink pad, a good big acrylic block (or the acrylic plate from your die-cutting machine) and put a sheet of foam or a mouse mat under your card to ensure good contact with the whole image. A range of the Stamp and Embossing sets are available here on this site.

I will be demoing these next Sunday (4th December) at our Paper -craft Jamboree in Athlone, so until then

Happy Crafting Anne

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Sizzix and Heros Arts – the perfect christmas marriage!

Leave a Reply

