Haunted Halloween – Spooky Swaps

Anne here from Create with Kate doing my first ever blog post… I’ve been doing some Halloween swaps with friends in Ireland and England and on the UK Stampers site (which is great crafting community ). It’s a little late but I wanted to make sure that all my swapees had received their ghastly gifts before I blogged them. I was inspired to take part in these swaps after I bought this wonderful set of Wandas Pantry halloween stamps from WaltzingMouse back at the Great Big Craft Extravaganza in Athlone in September. They were irresistable….

I did this postcard for Pat on UK Stampers. All postcards had to be sent naked (no envelope) in the post so no big embellishments and everything well secured. Using good sturdy mountboard, the background is painted in Eco Green copper acrylic (a terrific, quick drying paint with a great coverage, available on site here from Kate) and then, using the PVA crackle technique, painted over in black ecogreen acrylic with subsequent liberal application of copper glitter. I stamped the house (from Paperbagstudios) onto a background paper made with homemade glimmer sprays and cut it into a spooky shape, then I stamped the dancing elf in silver and stuck them to the postcard with PVA glue.  I stamped out the words (7 gypsies) and witch and labels (Wanda’s Pantry) and a few other little additions and stuck them on. All finished with blood red nail polish and (when dry) a good thick coating of PVA glue to hold it all firmly in place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The two halloween tags were done for swaps with crafty friends and I could go to town on texture and 3D elements (so I did..).  The first tag was done on  mountboard with a similar copper and black crackle background as the postcard. In the second tag the mountboard was covered in metal tape, embossed with a Sizzix halloween texture plate and alcohol inked and sanded it.  Using the same Paperbagstudio house stamp, some Blonde Moments UTEE in Sugar Lilac with Perfect Pearls and black stazon ink (all except stamp available on site here from Kate) I created spooky house embellishments. I had some great silvery spidersweb-like fabric (from Guineys) that I distressed with my heat gun. The skeletal arm, metal skull, black spiders web material and cockroach all came form the €2 shops halloween stock. I had to use them as Louise, the recipient of the second tag and a great and talented crafty friend, was with me when we bought them. The fabulous Wanda’s Pantry tags (some stamped onto shrink plastic, some stamped on to the Tim Holtz Lost and Found Paper Stack) were suitably goulish embellishments. I had great fun making these tags.

Wishing you all a Happy Halloween.

From Anne at Create with Kate

3 thoughts on “Haunted Halloween – Spooky Swaps

  1. Hi Anne. Heard you were making fab stuff and you certainly have. They are wonderful very different i love the postcard what brand is the dancing fairy stamp
    KayH.

Leave a Reply

