Crop and Class!

Hello again, from a VERY, VERY, WET west coast of Ireland; I retract my blog entry last month regarding my statement about it ‘not raining in the west, as much as people think’….cos it has been miserable for the last few days.  I HATE drizzle, pouring rain I can handle (a lot of water in a short space of time) whereas drizzle goes on for hours and hours if not days!! Not Fair!!

On a brighter note, I had a great weekend, don’t you just love it when you get one of them!:  I had a lovely class with the Thursday Girls last Thursday, where they got to play with some UTEE.  They were enjoying themselves so much they didn’t get around to making the cards that I had planned for the day.  They were very happy going home with their UTEE’d chipboard shapes.  They were even starting to experiment by the end of the class; mixing different colours, creating melted affects and adding pearl pigments and stamped images.  Happy Days!!

I then had a wonderful day on Friday, I met with the very creative Anne and we went to Westport to see an exhibition by the fab Glass and Felt artist Suzie Sullivan.  It was in a lovely shop with a gallery feel to it, called Kaelidoscope.  The lovely Denise stocks beautiful hand crafted goods from Resin Jewelry, knitted items to wall art.  This shop is a must see for anyone visiting Westport.  After the exhibition we spent a happy couple of hours crafting – A Wonderful Day!  I made a card for Aghna (our prize winner) and Anne made a gorgeous tag for a swap with a fellow GBCE crafter. Here’s a pic of my card.

  
I First flicked some sand acrylic paint around the edges  of a green square card, I then distressed the edges of a  page from Prima’s Alla Prima 6*6 pack with a distress tool and inked with Mustard Seed and Shabby Shutters distress inks. The Birdcage and Butterfly are from Prima’s Printery resistant canvas shapes (already have pattern so all you need to do is colour them, how cool is that!) that I sprayed with ink sprays.  The stamps I  used were from Anne’s stash (thanks Anne!) as was the  crystal and pearl swirl.  I placed the tag sentiment in the  corner against a backdrop of a Prima Shabby Chic  window and a paper rose.  I was very happy with the end result – pushed my comfort zone a bit!!  Took me nearly three hours, a very enjoyable three hours I might add although I now understand the need for sketches and Kits!!

On Saturday, we had our CROP, a few of the usual suspects couldn’t make it, didn’t dampen the creativity though.  Mary made a fab door hanger for her daughter out of Mount Board, paper, pearls, embossing powder and Mary Magic!!

  

Ita, who is off to New Zealand for a holiday (soooo jealous!), made a fabulous card using my Tim Holtz’s fanciful flight die, some Sakura pens, some gems and a fab background stamp.  She had such a fun time that she die cut some more to take with her and colour on her holidays!!

  

Anne played with some great backgrounds and acrylic paints, working on the cover of her handmade art journal and encouraged us in our efforts.  I had a topper that I created during an experiment day and I made a card using it (it’s going on the MINE, ALL MINE shelf).  I also made a card doing what I love, making my own patterned card / paper backgrounds.

  

We (my very patient hubbie and I) went to Galway that evening for a 40th Birthday party and I got to meet Aghna and hand over her Prize!! I was dying for her to open it to see if we got the mix right, she promised she would post a link to the projects that she creates from the goodies!! Looking forward to that!  Had a few hours at the party and then the hour’s drive back home to get up for work (hubbie) and a three year old (Me) the following morning …both at 6.30 a.m.   Mike went to work and I took Philip off to the beach in Westport with the digs for a very blustery and drizzly walk!!  And the drizzle hasn’t stopped!!

Until the drizzle stops

Happy crafting and keep smiling

Kate xx

2 thoughts on “Crop and Class!

  1. ‘CONGRATS on your blog and classes. Heard you had a great stand at the craft show in Athlone.
    Hope to meet up with you and Anne at your next class. Love the Prima papers etc.

Leave a Reply

